Announcing the Albert Schweitzer Organ Festival Hartford 

Young Professional Competition 2019

Friday, September 27, through Saturday, September 28 

Trinity College Chapel

The Young Professional Division Competition is open to undergraduate students through young professionals aged 26. Finalists are chosen from the pre-screening round and invited to Hartford for a live competition. We are pleased to announce that the judges for our 2019 competition will be Diane Meredith Belcher,  Thomas Murray, and John Rose.

First Prize: $15,000

Second Prize: $7,500

Third Prize: $3,500

Hymn Playing Prize: $2,500

Pre-screening recordings must be post-marked by May 15, 2019. The repertoire for the pre-screening round shall consist of:

1. Your choice of:

a. Prelude and Fugue in A minor, BWV 543 - J. S. Bach

b. Prelude and Fugue in D Major, BWV 532 - J. S. Bach

c. Fantasy and Fugue in G minor, BWV 542 - J. S. Bach

2. Andante Sostenuto, from Symphonie Gothique - Ch. M. Widor

3. A major work of your choice, written after 1937. 

4. ‘Love Divine, All Loves Excelling’ set to Hyfrydol as it appears in the Episcopal Hymnal 1982 (Church Publishing Corp). Recordings should include a creative introduction and all verses, demonstrating sensitivity to the text.

If chosen to compete as a finalist, competitors will present a 45-minute recital of choice which must include a Bach Trio Sonata and a Franck Chorale. For the hymn-playing competition, each finalist will be assigned a hymn.